Thanks to Roberta, one of the worst websites I’ve seen. Well, perhaps not the worst, but the fact that it’s local just makes it hurt a bit extra. Make sure your Javascript is turned on for maximum impact.

If, for some reason, you are currently enjoying the Sask Party Government of Saskatchewan redesign, you may not want to read the rest of this. As soon as I finish breaking down the logo, that is.

7772572.bin

OK, so here’s the new logo. I’ve broken it down a bit on Twitter, but I don’t like it. The swoosh element is generic and overused. (Ask any designer about ellipses, crescents or swooshes and you will get an earful; using a swoosh is the equivalent of putting “i” before your product name). The one colour version will look like a chopped-up Saskatchewan, and the text accompanying it is either Frutiger or Myriad, the default font for Illustrator. In short, they didn’t spend a lot of time on this. If they did, they shouldn’t have. The only way it could be worse is if they added a drop-shadow and a gradient and possibly another ellipse around the whole thing to “bring it together”. I know, this doesn’t matter for web design. Anybody can design a logo for the web, as long as it stays on the web. It seems the intricacies and/or limitations of print (both offset and screen) are lost on the new crop of designers. (Full disclosure: I am under 30 and have no formal education in design.) I know, because I have to take your shitty web logos and translate them into something we can print. The sad part is you’re probably making more money than me.

So I decided to improve it:

You’re welcome! A public service, for the public service.

 

